Skip to navigation
Helping You Seek Positive Results With Compassion, Drive, & Grit SCHEDULE A FREE CONSULTATION

Extreme DWI in Texas 

Sept. 13, 2022

Being arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI) can be scary enough, but facing an extreme DWI charge in Texas can be downright terrifying. An extreme DWI, also called a felony DWI, means an increased risk of lengthy jail time, higher fines, and other serious consequences to your daily life. 

If you are looking at a felony DWI, you want the experienced, aggressive legal counsel of The Law Office of Kenneth W Mullen PC involved as soon as possible. 

Texas Felony DWIs 

In Texas, authorities may charge you with a felony DWI under certain circumstances: 

  1. Intoxication Manslaughter  

    Driving while intoxicated and being suspected of causing an accident that resulted in the death of someone is a second-degree felony punishable by 2 to 20 years in prison.

  2. Intoxication Assault  

    Driving while intoxicated and causing serious bodily injury to someone is a third-degree felony and carries a 2 to 10-year prison sentence.

  3. DWI with Child Passenger 

    A DWI with a passenger under 15 years old in the car is a state jail felony that could result in six months to two years of incarceration. 

  4. Third or Subsequent DWI 

    If you have already been convicted of DWI twice — no matter how long ago the convictions were — any further DWIs qualify as felony DWIs, which carry a 2 to 10-year prison sentence. 

Getting The Law Office of Kenneth W Mullen PC involved early gives you the best chance of defending yourself against felony DWI charges. Common defenses include raising challenges to blood, breath, urine, or other sobriety tests. 

Penalties of a Felony DWI Conviction 

In addition to incarceration, a felony DWI conviction carries several other possible penalties: 

  • Fine up to $10,000 

  • Driver’s license suspension 

  • Up to 10 years probation 

  • Ignition interlock device on your vehicle 

  • Substance abuse treatment and counseling.  

Moreover, as with any felony conviction, you will lose the right to vote and own a firearm. 

If you face a felony DWI charge and all the potentially devastating consequences that come with it, call The Law Office of Kenneth W Mullen PC today at (817) 406-9596 or through the online contact form.