College-Age Child Arrested for Marijuana in Weatherford: How Can You Help?
Dec. 14, 2021
If your college-age child is arrested for marijuana charges in Texas, you’re undoubtedly concerned about what may happen and how this will affect their future. It’s important to remember that your child is innocent until proven guilty, but an experienced criminal attorney can give them the best options for a successful outcome in their case. To give your child the best chance for success, it’s also important to understand the potential consequences of a marijuana conviction in Texas.
Marijuana Crimes in Texas
In Texas, marijuana or THC is a controlled substance. Under the Texas Controlled Substances Act, penalties for drugs crimes vary based on the drug classification and the amount of the drug at issue. The Act breaks down drug classification into six different penalty groups, but Texas law treats marijuana separately. Two of the most common marijuana crimes in Texas are possession of marijuana and possession of THC.
Marijuana is the common name we use for the drug that comes from the cannabis plant. Possessing four ounces or less of marijuana is a misdemeanor, but it can still carry penalties of up to $4,000 in fines and up to one year in jail. Possessing more than four ounces of marijuana can be a felony. At the high end, a conviction for possession of 2,000 pounds or more of marijuana can result in a $10,000 fine and prison for up to 99 years.
Cannabis has more than 100 different cannabinoids, but the most common of these is tetrahydrocannabinol or THC. THC is the main psychoactive compound in marijuana. While many people consume it by smoking it, you can also find it in oils, capsules, edibles, and more. Possessing THC is a felony in Texas, and charges can result from possessing THC vaping cartridges, edibles, and tinctures or oils. Possession of less than one gram of THC
or another THC derivative can result in probation (assuming your child has no prior felony criminal convictions) for a period of between 2 and 5 years, with an underlying exposure to a sentence in the state jail facility of 180 days to two years and up to $10,000 in fines. At the high end, possession of more than 400 grams can result in ten years to life in prison and up to a $50,000 fine.
Hire an Experienced Texas Criminal Attorney
If your college-age child is facing marijuana charges in the Weatherford area, you need legal guidance. Your child needs an experienced criminal defense attorney to have the best possible outcome in their case, and this is the most important thing you can do to help your child. Attorney Kenneth Mullen is a seasoned Texas criminal defense attorney with many years of experience fighting marijuana charges for clients. Give The Law Office of Kenneth W Mullen PC a call at 817-406-9656 or contact us online.